Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

2023 Canadian Jewish Literary Awards

We are pleased to announce that the 2023 Canadian Jewish Literary Awards ceremony will take place on Oct. 15 at 2 p.m. at the Tribute Communities Recital Hall, Accolade East Building, York University.

This year’s honorees are:

Biography/Memoir: Moshe Safdie for If Walls Could Speak: My Life in Architecture

Children and Youth: Heather Camlot for The Prisoner and the Writer

Fiction: Lori Weber for The Ribbon Leaf

History (The Irving Abella Award): Doris Bergen for Between God and Hitler: Military Chaplains in Nazi Germany

Holocaust: Josef Lewkowicz for The Survivor: How I Survived Six Concentration Camps and Became a Nazi Hunter

Jewish Thought and Culture: Sara Ronis for Demons in the Details: Demonic Discourse and Rabbinic Culture in Late Antique Babylonia

Poetry: Gary Barwin for The Most Charming Creatures

Scholarship: Derek Sayer for Postcards from Absurdistan: Prague at the End of History

Yiddish: Rebecca Margolis for Yiddish Lives On: Strategies of Language Transmission


Special Achievement Award: Michael Posner for Leonard Cohen, Untold Stories

Special Citation: Simon-Pierre Lacasse for Les Juifs de la Révolution tranquille : regards d’une minorité religieuse sur le Québec de 1945 à 1976





Oct 15 2023


2:00 pm - 4:00 pm


Accolade East Building, Tribute Communities Recital Hall @ 83 York Boulevard, Toronto


Israel and Golda Koschitzky Centre for Jewish Studies
QR Code